Gaston Baele Memorial Lecture

The Gaston Baele Memorial Lecture was instituted in 2017 by the Board of the Belgian Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (BSTH) to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the BSTH and was named after the first President of the BSTH, prof dr Gaston Baele (1939-2015), Head of the Haemostasis Laboratory of the University Hospital Gent.

The Gaston Memorial Lecture is given during the Annual BSTH Meeting.

The Board of the BSTH decides on the Lecturer for the Gaston Memorial Lecture.

  • The lecturer should be a Belgian person with important expertise in the area of thrombosis and haemostasis, and the invitation to hold the Gaston Baele Memorial Lecture at the BSTH Annual Meeting should be seen as a recognition for the work, career and engagement in the field of coagulation of the person concerned.
  • No person can be invited to hold the Gaston Baele Memorial Lecture on more than one occasion, and only one Gaston Baele Memorial Lecture is held annually.

The Gaston Baele Memorial Lecturers:

2019: Hans Deckmyn KU Leuven

  • Publications
    • 250 papers, some 30 of which in Blood 
    • 15 book chapters 
    • cited over 8300 times (WoS)
  • Was board member of the BSTH and of the European Platelet Network (EUPLAN)
  • Executive officer of the European Thrombosis Research Organisation (ETRO) and member of the ISTH since 1988.
  • received a.o. the Boehringer-Ingelheim prize for Research on Thrombosis and Coagulation, the prize "Dr. en Mevr. SchamelhoutKoettlitz " and the Sidmar prize, both awarded by the Royal Academy for Medicine of Belgium.
  • Doctor Honoris Causa at the University of Debrecen in Hungary and in 2017 he was elected “Most popular professor” by the Kulak students.
  • Became emeritus professor in October 2018, but he still serves as the research coordinator of the KU Leuven campuses in Kortrijk and Bruges.


2018: Marc Hoylaerts KU Leuven

  • Full professor at the University of Leuven, with research activities in the field of hemostasis, thrombosis, platelet function and formation, vascular reactivity and hemostasis
  • Publications (website KU Leuven)
    • 329 journalarticles
    • 11 PhD theses
    • 15 bookchapters
  • Emeritus celebration27/10/2017, Emeritus Professor withformaldutiesat theCentre forMolecularandVascularBiology, KU Leuven
  • BSTH Board
    • Member 2008-2015
    • Treasurer 2008-2015


2017: Jean-Louis David U Liège

  • Training in internal medicine, haematology and nuclear medicine in ULg
  • Founder and head of thrombosis and haemostasis unit ULg
  • Co-founder of the BSTH in 1992
  • Research interests
    • Development of new platelet anti-aggregation drugs
    • The effect of estrogens on the haemostatic profile
    • Markers of in vivo prethrombotic states
    • Tratement of haemophiliacs and other bleeders
  • Retired 2005, active as consultant in the dept of clinical haematology

© Copyright 2024 - Belgian Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis - All rights reserved.